5 Comments

Author Marketing: It’s Time to Start Studying

Author Marketing - Its time to start studyingI stumbled across this blog and LOVED the message here:  everything worth doing requires work.No job I’ve ever had was only about the fun stuff I liked to do, there were always things I had to study at – practice – and begrudgingly master before I considered myself a success.  For many Authors, marketing is the part of their career that most feels like ‘work’ … well, James Pence has a story about that and you really should read it.

I attended my first writers conference back in the late nineties.

This particular conference had two tracks: amateur and professional. To attend the professional workshops, you had to have had two pieces published. Well, it just so happened that about five years earlier I had sold two short stories (to Sunday school publications).

That qualified me as a pro.

When I arrived at the conference I looked down my nose at all the poor “wannabe” writers who had to attend the amateur workshops, all the while knowing that I would be hobnobbing with other professional writers. I was eager to learn all the writing secrets of the pros that would guarantee great success and launch my career as a bestselling author.

Read The Full Post

5 comments on “Author Marketing: It’s Time to Start Studying

  1. Reblogged this on Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog….. An Author Promotions Enterprise! and commented:
    My thanks to DeAnna for finding this great post 😀

    Like

  2. I so agree with this post! I’ve heard many writers conplainign about having to market thair book, that shoudl be the publisher to do that work.

    Personally, I think that if we don’t want to do the job, why would anyone else? After all it’s OUR story. We are (or should be) the person that more than anyone wish the book to find its way into readers’ hands… and possibly hearts.

    And come on. If you call it ‘marketing’ it’s lothesome, but if you call it ‘connecting’ it’s a lot more fun 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Thanks for sharing my post, and for your kind comments! I spoke at a writers conference a few months ago and some of the writers in attendance actually became angry when I talked about the importance of platform, author marketing, etc. I wasn’t surprised at their frustration, but the level of their anger did take me aback.

    This is the way the writing industry works, and getting angry and frustrated doesn’t change that.

    I like jazzfeathers’ comment. Call it connecting and have fun with it.

    Liked by 2 people

What's Your Thoughts?

