1 Comment

What Happens When You Go Viral: On Wanting to Give Up

Writing, Discouragement, Social Networking, Social Media, Blogging

I know so many writers feeling the same way as this blogger. Yet, look at the people reaching back to her due to this blog. The internet can be a great place sometimes. The point is this: You are not alone and there IS a point to all this “pushing yourself” one that’s so much more real and deep than just the numbers… it’s about human connections. I think the ones who get that are the ones who will really succeed out there. Keep at it Lily. You may very well be ‘the real deal.’ Best wishes to you. ♥

Such Small Hands

I recently found out that the hit count on my Relevant article back in June was over 1.6 million. The editor told me it was the second-biggest traffic day in the history of their website. That’s mind-boggling to me.

If you had asked me a year ago what I thought it would mean to have a piece get that much exposure, I would have assumed it would be my big break. That it would boost my blog, lead to freelance opportunities, help connect me to the right people. That it would be my open door into the world of professional writing and publishing. That it would bring me validation and satisfaction. It would reassure me that what I’m doing here isn’t pointless and that my story matters.

Do you want to know the truth?

It hasn’t done any of those things. For a few weeks I received a lot of…

View original post 1,166 more words

One comment on “What Happens When You Go Viral: On Wanting to Give Up

  1. I think she’s worrying too much about the future. My advice to her was to just write. Once she has a manuscript, then take the next small step toward her goal. That’s what writers do– we write, plain and simple. The rest are things we can’t possibly control. Meaning, whether we’ll be successful or not. Sure, we can work our tail off to succeed. But no one really knows why one book becomes a huge success while another, better written, book flops. It’s just this crazy business we are a part of. Just write– that we can control.

    Liked by 1 person

What's Your Thoughts?

