5 Comments

8 Tips For Communicating Better in Relationships

8 Tips For Communicating Better in Relationships

Once upon a time when my husband and I were first together, not too long into our relationship, we had a hum-dinger of a fight.  It was bad.  I don’t mean violence bad, but the neighbors probably heard most of the gory details.  Anyway, after that fight we sat down and began discussing the “rules” of what was allowed to happen in our future fights (because, let’s face it, unless you’re some sort of alien they are bound to happen!)

Those rules combined with some of the basic lessons of good communication have kept us together these past 16 years.  This blog by Sara Altschule nails a LOT of those good communication tips, so I wanted to share it because the topic of keeping a loving relationship strong is forefront in my mind as I write this story for my first published work.

Enjoy!

Sara Altschule
Originally Posted By: 

On Bustle

“Communication is key.” This statement has been said to pretty much everyone at least once in their life. So if communication is key, where do we find this key? Sometimes it feels like we’ve lost that key. Or it’s hidden in one of those hide-a-key rocks and there’s a thousand rocks outside. Ugh.

All of us who have relationships have struggled with communication. It comes in friendships, family relationships, romantic relationships, and work relationships, to name the main ones. But each of these relationships are in our lives so we can learn how to be better communicators, and thus not only express ourselves effectively but learn how to meet others’ needs and get our needs met as well.

Thankfully with these helpful tips, we can find that key, make a million copies of the communication key, and never lose sight of it. We can unlock the door to healthy communication and are able to witness how lovely it is.

READ MORE

5 comments on “8 Tips For Communicating Better in Relationships

  1. My wife and I have been together 3 years now and I guess we must be aliens because we don’t fight. Maybe it has to do with the fact that for the first year of our relationship we lived 650kms apart from each other and had to rely on phone conversations, Skype, texting and Facebook to keep in contact. Even before we got together, when we were just instant best friends, we used to talk about anything and everything, all the time (to the point I regularly went over my 2500 monthly texts plan).

    I agree, communication is key, and active listening. ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you’re an alien doll, you’re a lovely one! Congrats on such a great and happy relationship! Seriously. It sounds to me like the both of you got a lot of practice in the communication department early on – a great start to any relationship I think.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you. Like I said, we had to. Ok, granted, we didn’t HAVE to spend hours every night talking to each other on the phone and doing other things too but, really, why not? 😉
        I’m already happier with her than I ever was with my ex-husband, who was all about mind games and adjusting his personality depending on the people he was around, which always got me wondering which him was the real him…

        Congrats on the 16 years!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m dragonflylady77’s wife and I have to agree, communication is soooooooo important. I think that by being long distance for the first 12 months of our relationship it was either communicate well or break up. The latter was never an option!

    Liked by 1 person

What's Your Thoughts?

