11 Comments

50 Shades of Fan Fiction (or am I a book snob?)

50 Shades of Fan Fiction or Am I Just a Book Snob

Let’s talk about fanfiction in traditional publishing!

Confession time.  I haven’t read 50 Shades of Grey.  I know, I’m the target market (according to the media reports) middle aged mother from middle America who has the guilty pleasure of romance novels and writing what others lovingly refer to as ‘smut.’  It should go without saying that I’d pick up the book and be a loyal fan like so many others I know.

But I went book snob on it.

I didn’t avoid it due to content (though from what I hear of it, I’m not sure I’d like it as much as some women I know) I avoided it because of the fact that EL James wrote it, originally, as a fan fiction of the popular Twilight series.

Its not fanfiction I have something against, in truth I’ve wrote more than my fair share of it and have read some amazing fanfiction; its that someone actually PUBLISHED fanfiction (names altered to protect the not-so-innocent and to avoid lawsuit.)  And that’s my issue.

Click Here To Read My Post at the Writing Wenches Blog

11 comments on “50 Shades of Fan Fiction (or am I a book snob?)

  1. My wife read all 3 and enjoyed them. I read a chapter over her shoulder and the bad writing put me off, story issues notwithstanding.
    I like what my wife writes way better and there’s not inner goddess crap. 😉
    I did know about the fanfic turned real book thing and I don’t like Twilight in any way shape or form so that was another thing that put me off. But mostly the bad writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hear similar things quite often. Seems to me that 50 Shades is like Twilight in that, either you love it or you hate it. I find few people who feel in between about it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • My wife, who doesn’t do vampires or werewolves or supernatural things at all, really enjoyed Twilight as well. And I’m fine with that, because I love my wife and it’s ok to like different things.
        Me, I love reading Mills & Boon romance novels…
        She wants to go see the 50 Shades movie and found a friend to go with, because I ain’t going!!

        Like

  2. 50 shades is badly written with a vocabulary of 300 words. The fan f origins is not theic

    Like

  3. […] 50 Shades of Fan Fiction (or am I a book snob?) (deannaross.net) […]

    Like

  4. […] 50 Shades of Fan Fiction (or am I a book snob?) (deannaross.net) […]

    Like

  5. […] 50 Shades of Fan Fiction (or am I a book snob?) (deannaross.net) […]

    Like

  6. […] 50 Shades of Fan Fiction (or am I a book snob?) (deannaross.net) […]

    Like

  7. Interesting I had no idea. However, aren’t most authors/writers inspired by what they read? What is truly original anymore? Also I don’t really see the link with Twilight & Fifty as I read them both. I can say both soundtracks are fairly good and the PR machines behind both are strong.

    Like

What's Your Thoughts?

