Leave a comment

Eating My Frog Daily

etf_full
“Eat a live frog first thing in the morning and nothing worse will happen to you the rest of the day.” – Mark Twain

Let’s get something clear to start… if writing is like eating a frog to you… it’s probably not “your thing” in life.  So, that said, writing isn’t really like eating a frog (as Mr. Twain refers to it above) but sometimes it can be as hard to do as eating a frog.

If you’re a parent or maybe if you just work a very demanding job (or both) you could be like me in that you make personal sacrifices so that everything you are obligated to get done in one day, gets done.  Could the housework wait?  Sure, but you probably don’t want to let it go for too long and so it takes a priority.  Kids need to eat, pets need to get walked, work that earns you a paycheck definitely needs to happen or that mortgage won’t get paid.  I get it.  You’re singing my song.

However, at some point you find yourself missing doing “your thing.”  That can take the form of a really crabby mom… or a burnt out employee – neither of which serves your priorities well either.

So… you need to find another way.  That’s me in 2016.  I put myself last… alot.  More than I should if I’m really being honest.  And, I don’t mind… in fact, I love all my work (at home and on the job) so I don’t really want to change.  So what can give?  How do I reconcile my love/goal of writing professionally with the rest of my current existence?

Eating frogs.

No, not real ones!  That’s gross.  PS: I totally have a phobia of them so this is a particularly gross quote.

For me, the eating frogs comes in by getting up a little earlier to do the stuff I don’t like to do every single day so that, in the evening when I’m physically beat, I have time for the stuff I love (social media & writing.)

With my housework done in that ungodly early hour of the AM, I don’t feel guilty spending my evenings writing and setting up my social media for the next day (and even chatting with some of my future fans – HI FANS!) no guilt = happy mom & employee at the day job.

So, my advice to you is this… try it.  Wake up an hour early this week.  All week.  Yes, you’ll be tired but down two cups of water to wake up your body (then put on strong coffee or tea to chase it) do your dishes and laundry or whatever your frogs are that need doing.  Then see how you feel about your time crunch at the end of the day.  Did you feel more relaxed?  Did you feel like you had more time for the stuff you love – that thing that lights up your body like electricity and sends you roaring to the mountain tops?  If so, leave a comment.  I’d love to hear how it works out for you!

 

 

What's Your Thoughts?

